Contact Us – Staff & Key Volunteers

Do you want to share your unit’s stories and pictures from events that you participate in or plan?  We love to tell stories, so please send us an email at and we’ll try to share it on the Council Facebook page. 


Five Rivers Council Service Center & Business Office

Mailing Address:  Five Rivers Council
                                244 West Water Street
                                Elmira, NY 14901

E-Mail:                   CLICK HERE  

Facebook:              CLICK HERE  

Phone:                    (607) 732-9047

Fax:                        (607) 732-9055

Professional Staff

Chris Theurich
District Executive,
Williamson Road District

Email Chris




Karl Ziegenfus (Eagle)
District Field Director, Indian Waters District

Email Karl Ziegenfus





Brad Bodoh

Scout Executive, Five Rivers Council

Email Brad




Administrative Staff


Mary Jane Russell
Finance Specialist

Email Mary Jane

Shirley Blakeman
Business Manager

Email Shirley Blakeman




Joe Fountain
Ranger, Camp Gorton


Email  Joe Fountain



Eric Swift
Caretaker, Camp Brulé

Email Eric



Key Volunteer Leadership

John Sharkey
Council President

Eagle Scout

Email John



Marc McGrain

Council Commissioner

Email Marc


Key Volunteer Leadership

  • Council President: John Sharkey (607) 765-8795
  • Council Commissioner: Marc McGrainM(607) 857-9646
  • Council Executive Vice President: Vacant
  • Council Vice President Strategic Planning & Governance: Vacant
    • Nominations Chair: Vacant
    • Annual Strategy Plan Updates: Vacant
  • Council Vice President of Activities: John Johnson M(607) 738-4620
    • CS Activities Chair: Vacant
    • Webelos to Scout Transition Chair : Vacant
    • Scout BSA Activities Chair: Vacant
    • District Event Support Chair: Vacant
    • Camporee Chair: Vacant
    • Advancement Chair: Chris Ziegenfus (607) 795-6166
    • Order of the Arrow Lodge Advisor: Josh Wolf
    • Order of the Arrow Lodge Chief: Travis Bahl
    • Scouting for Food: Chris Oughterson
    • STEM Chair: Vacant
    • Training Chair: Vacant
  • Council Vice President of Camping: Tom Miller (570) 419-2899
  • Council Vice President of NCAP: George Bacalles (607)426-5365
    • NCAP Short Term Chair: Vacant
    • NCAP Compliance Chair: Vacant
    • Risk Management Chair: Vacant
  • Council Vice President of Physical Plant & Properties: Kurt Groeger
    • Off Season Use & Rental
    • Non-Scout Use & Rental
    • Campmaster Corps
      • Camp Gorton
      • Camp Brule
    • Property Maintenance & Improvement
  • Council Vice President of Membership: Eileen Fisher (860)847-0722
    • Recruiting:
    • Religious Relations: Vacant
    • Exploring
    • Venturing
  • Council Vice President of Marketing: Vacant
    • Website
    • NESA/Eagle
    • Public Relations / Community Outreach
    • Communications
      • Advertising, Media relations
  • Council Vice President of Fund Development: Brett Powell  M(607) 425-8998
    • Winter Meltdown:
    • DCAD:
    • Golf Tournament:
    • Popcorn:
    • Friends of Scouting
      • FOS Coordinator (Family & Leadership)
      • FOS Community Campaign
    • Grants
  • Council Vice President of Finance & Administration: Charles Krotje
    • Audit
    • Finance
  • Council Vice President of Endowment: John Meier
  • Immediate Past President: Don Quick
  • Legal Counsel: Steve Agan