OA Awards


The Founders Award

Introduced at the 1981 National Order of the Arrow Conference, the Founder’s Award recognizes Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to their lodge. The award is reserved for an Arrowman who demonstrates that he or she personifies the spirit of selfless service, as advocated by founder E. Urner Goodman and cofounder Carroll A. Edson.

The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson, with a wooden base and a brass plate suitable for engraving.  Available for uniform wear is a gold-colored arrow suspended from a red ribbon.

Lodges may petition the national Order of the Arrow committee to present between two and four awards annually, depending on the number of members in the lodge. If the lodge presents more than one award, at least one must be awarded to a youth under the age of 21.

Click here to fill out online recommendation.

TKäen DoD Lodge 30 Recipients

2023 – Jim “AR” Nelson

2018 – Peter Reif

2017 – Joe Roupp Sr.

2016 – Terrie Seymour

2015 – Kelsey Seymour and Ryan Ross

2014 – William Ernest

2012 – Ruby Way

2007 – Marcus Allis and Dan Jackson

2005 – Jon Fuller

2004 – Jim Bacalles

2003 – Neal Forsyth and Lois Love

2001 – John Bahl and Marlene Enlow

2000 – Brian Love and Bernie Briceland Sr.

1999 – Jamie Love and Roy Paddock

1998 – Jason Potter and Don Worden

1997 – Ron Hall

1996 – George Bacalles and Mike Asiello Jr. 

1995 – Ted Love and Jim Griffin

1994 – Floyd Marley

1993 – Marc McGrain and Ken Masteller


Previous Lodge Recipients

Winingus Lodge 30 

1992 – Jason Root and William Thomas


TKäen DoD Lodge 186

1991 – Thomas Feehan and Sean McInerney

1992 – Tim Griffin and Mark Kosty


Wakanda Lodge 186

1990 – Let Lowery


Seneca Lodge 394

1985 – Daniel Redner and Michael McCarthy

1987 – Peter Maybaum and Kenneth Maybaum

1990 – Adam Hungerford, Michael McCarthy, and David Powell




The James E. West Fellowship Award

James E. West was the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America, and he served in that position for more than three decades. The West Fellowship award is available for gifts of $1,000 and up in cash or marketable securities to a council endowment fund. The gift must be in addition to— and not replace or diminish—the donor’s annual Friends of Scouting support. Many individuals and corporations make these gifts either on behalf of someone else—such as in honor of an Eagle Scout, Silver Beaver recipient, a retirement, a special accomplishment, or anniversary—or in memory of a special individual. If an institution is truly “the lengthened shadow of one man,” it is more than fitting that the BSA honor James E. West’s major contributions to Scouting in such a significant way. The lodge has made many contributions to the council endowment fund honoring arrowman who have given unselfish service to the lodge.

Click here to fill out online recommendation.

2018 – Dusty Bahl

2017 – Kelsey Seymour and Joe Taylor

2016 – Peter Reif

2015 – George Bacalles and Roy Paddock

2013 – Don Many and Terrie Seymour

2012 – Joe Roupp and Jim Thomas